The Lure of the High Country


It is a warm sunny day and I am trying to write a scene set in the snow. I’ve turned up the aircon! I know the Victorian Alps pretty well having skied for many years at Mt Hotham and holidayed in Bright and Omeo and I also have the glossy brochures from the High Country on my desk. As added research I have just finished watching THE MAN FROM SNOWY RIVER as I have to write a horse riding scene. I recently went horse riding on my holiday in the US so I have that image firmly in my head.

But as I try to write this scene I keep going into holiday planning mode….there is something about the Victorian High Country. The romance of the horseman, the breathtaking scenery, the starry nights that go on forever.

Wonder if I can squeeze in a weekend before Christmas..all in the line of research duty of course
Check out the high country at http://www1.visitvictoria.com/displayObject.cfm/ObjectID.000B82FC-E989-1F80-B0E580C476A90000/vvt.vhtml

One thought on “The Lure of the High Country

Leave a Reply

