Five Things you might not Know about Me

My mate, Medical Romance Author, Kate Hardy has tagged me…”five things you might not know about me.” The instructions go something like this…..PLEASE LEAVE THE FOLLOWING IN ALL ‘PEOPLE COLLECTION’ POSTS: Remember that it isn’t always the sensational stuff that writers are looking for, it can just as easily be something that you take for granted like having raised twins or knowing how to grow beetroot. Mind you, if you know how to fly a helicopter or have worked as a film extra, do feel free to let the rest of us know about it!

My mind ALWAYS goes blank when I am asked stuff like this but here goes.


1. I adore theatre and used to be heavily involved in an amateur theatre company. My fave part was playing Gwendoline in The Importance of Being Ernest. What’s not to like? I got to swan around in gorgeous dresses and eat cucumber sandwiches. My favourite line was ‘ I always have my diary with me. One must have something interesting to read on the train. ‘

2. When I was a sleep deprived student nurse I managed to lock my keys in the car of my Volkswagen Beetle at 2am. Only problem was, the engine was actually running! Did it cut out? No. It took 2o minutes for my DH to come home from his party with a spare key! All the lights in the neighbour hood came on.

3 I make a wicked Christmas cake. One year I had soaked the fruit for the three days in the booze that the recipe required. Then I broke my arm. My mum finally made the cake after the fruit had soaked in whiskey, rum, brandy, vanilla and lemon essence for a month. Best cake ever! Now I soak it for four weeks every year.

4 I had seven years of infertility before I had the boys. A wilderness experience like that changes you.

5 I once stood by the entry turnstile in a supermarket which had a blocked fire exit. I had asked the manager to clear it before and he had refused so I said to every person who walked in over a half hour period , ‘do you realize you are shopping in a potential fire hazard?’ Within the hour, my voice had been joined by ten others. The manager moved the plant display. The fire exit stayed clear after that.

Who to tag? Bronwyn Jameson and Jenna Bayley-Burke
And anyone who calls by with a blog then join in!! Oh and let us know too

8 thoughts on “Five Things you might not Know about Me

  1. Fascinating stuff, Fiona – and I can just see you by that entry turnstile. Good on you for standing by your principles.

  2. Fiona – I too had seven years in the infertility wilderness. We even adopted a wee girl two years ago (she’s a doll!) And guess…I’ve just gotten pregnant thru IVF at 37! Still can’t believe it! Keep pinching myself to make sure it’s true.
    And yep – going through all that definitely changes you forever. Hoping it will help me in my writing too – all that digging deep!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Jude D

  3. Congratulations, Jude! What wonderful news. A baby brother or sister for your gorgeous girl. My current WIP has overseas adoption themes:-)
    Take care

  4. Oooh. I should have posted about my headaches. I’ve had every rare kind it seems…and my CAT scans are still normal. So…if you have a character with a headache, I am your girl 😀

    My infertility adventure was only 3 years…and now a new doc wants to make sure I actually have the issue that caused that infertility. Huh? Yeah. See why I can’t write a doctor hero?

  5. Hi Fiona,

    Just popped in to let you know The Nurse’s Longed-For Family arrived today :-D.

    Thank you v. v. much,

    Sue 🙂

  6. Hi Fiona, enjoyed seeing your photos of Craigs Hut. Visited there around 14 years ago and so sorry to hear its gone (hopefully to be rebuilt. Your photos reminded how beautiful it was. I heard you on 774 this morning and now after visiting your site I am interested in Blogs. Had heard about them but thought I was to busy to check out what they are all about, however after visiting your site I now must make an effort to set one up myself.
    Robyn

Leave a Reply

