The Panic


I’ve been nose down with writing and my other life….will tell you about that next when I join in a blog party:-) …so I can’t believe a week has gone by and I haven’t posted.

The Vietnam book is coming along and I was happy with the way the story was progressing. Bec is a mixture of vulnerability and ‘against the odds’ determination and Tom is…well, Tom is just gorgeous. I want to meet him!

But, suddenly as I head toward the final run down to the black moment I am panicking. I think the book is short! This is NOT a good place to realise this. Everything is set up for the black moment…all the pins are lined up to be knocked down flat. Total emotional chaos for Bec and Tom.

My writing has stalled as the fear that I’ve done something majorly wrong has gripped my brain. A million questions zoom around in my head. I re read the synopsis over and over. I was seen muttering in the aisle of the supermarket talking it all through as I had to deal with feeding the troops. Mentally paralyzed. It’s a horrible feeling.

So today is a new day and I am moving forward. I am going to write what I can see and feel about this story and then sit back. If it is short then I will deal with it then. But no one will be happy with a book that stops at chapter eight so I’m sucking down the fear and I’m going to type.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

4 thoughts on “The Panic

  1. Oh my… I want to meet him too!

    I hope that horrible feeling passes soon. Best wishes with writing through the fear.

    Sue šŸ™‚

  2. Fiona,

    I think you’ve got the right approach – write it down and then see how it looks. You may find then that it doesn’t need any more, or that there’s something extra that you need to fill in.

    Hope it works out for you.

    Annie

  3. Hey Fiona, welcome to the world of writing short… I live there all the time, in constant fear that one day I really will be finished at 35k. I have utmost confidence in your ability to work through it though (and when you do drop me a line and let me know HOW you did it!)

    Kelly

Leave a Reply

