Getting into The Christmas Spirit!

I do enjoy Christmas and when I feel a bit overwhelmed by the cards and the shopping I think of the wonder and joy on children’s faces each year and I tap into the wonder.

We have a family tradition of going up to Melbourne and spending the weekend experiencing a big, city, Christmas. The decorations, the glorious Myer Windows, the street theatre, the giant Christmas tree, the Christmas concert….all of it gets me into the Spirit of the season.

As I wrap presents I haul out my favourite Romantic Christmas movies. I love “While You Were Sleeping.” When we lived in Wisconsin we would go to Chicago for our ‘big city Christmas’ and I love watching this film now and recalling the golden trumpets at Marshall Fields, the lights on the bare trees, the nip of cold that I miss so much in the southern hemisphere.


Another Christmas movie I adore is “Love Actually.” London bedecked in Christmas lights is a magical thing. My favourite story is the writer and the Portuguese woman, although my fave scene would have to be Hugh Grant dancing.

I sit and wrap and sob and laugh my way through both these movies every Christmas.

Do you have a favorite Christmas movie?

3 thoughts on “Getting into The Christmas Spirit!

  1. That’s my favourite story in Love Actually too.
    Wishing you and your family a wonderful Christmas and fab New Year!
    Sue πŸ™‚

  2. It’s a Wonderful Life. In fact, as it’s foggy and cold here, I think the kids and I should curl up on the sofa with the dog and watch it…

    Have a fabulous Christmas

  3. I’ll second Kate’s recommendation. Definitely “It’s a Wonderful Life” and also “How the Grinch Stole Christmas.” πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

