The Conference Is Over

I keep humming ‘the carnival is over’ cos that is pretty much how it feels to me. It was a GREAT conference and I had a lovely time both socially and professionally. I was so excited to be able to share all the wonders of a First Sale with my friend, Desire and Modern Extra Author, Robyn Grady. Here she is with her flowers although in our euphoria or was that champagne haze, neither of us thought to turn the bunch around so we could SEE the flowers!

The Harlequin Cocktail Party with its Venetian Carnivale theme was tremendous fun and the costumes made for lots of laughs. Here is Trish Morey, Harlequin Presents Author and RWA Treasurer, Melanie Scott and Emerald winner all dressed up to cruise the canals.

I am the brightly coloured jester in the next picture. You can’t see my leggings but they had bright diamonds all over them just like the Harlequin symbol. People said I was sucking up to the Managing Director but hey, it was worth a try πŸ™‚ And you can have so much fun when no one knows who you are!

I had dinner with the Senior Editor of Harlequin Medical Romance, Sheila Hodgson, who came all the way from England along with some of the other Medical Authors at a lovely Thai Restaurant in the Rocks…the old part of Sydney. It is a real luxury to be able to sit down and talk writing with people who really understand you πŸ™‚

Of course as well as socializing I did do some work! The Jennifer Crusie workshop was fabulous as was the Alpha Hero workshop I did, run by two Great Australian Authors, Annie West and Anna Campbell. I also helped Carol Marinelli organise a Pink Breakfast as a fund raiser for Breast cancer research which was loads of fun and a great way to feel part of a conference.

The Awards night on Saturday was great fun and the food was glorious. It was fantastic to see Barbara Hannay be presented with her RITA and I was lucky enough to get to touch it πŸ™‚ Anne Oliver took out the RuBY in the Short Category and here we all are on stage moments before Anne’s name was announced. From Left to Right it is Yvonne Lindsay, Marion Lennox, me, Carol Marinelli and Anne Oliver.

So now I am home again and a book is due so I better get to finishing it.

5 thoughts on “The Conference Is Over

  1. What a great bunch of R*BY finalists there! Congrats, again, on your finalist book, Fiona, and thanks for posting these lovely pics. I’m already looking forward to next year’s conference!

    Jennie

Leave a Reply

