Scaring Myself

croc.jpgCrocodiles are protected in Australia and as a result there are quite a few of them up in Far North Queensland and the Northern Territory. I’m not scared of too many things but these prehistoric creatures give me the heebie-geebies.

When I am visiting these states I never want to swim in anything other than a pool. On my visit to the Tiwi Islands I was totally freaked when I saw a crocodile surfing in the ocean. Forget a stroll along a moonlit beach!

And when I think I am being ridiculous a quick google search reveals that perhaps I am not. On average four people a year die from crocodile attacks.

SO here I am writing a scene with a crocodile and I am freaking myself out completely. I had to turn the cover of this book over because those eyes are following me everywhere. I think I need to go and watch the Gilmore Girls and chill out before I write the rest of the scene.

Has anyone scared themselves writing something? I’d love to hear!

2 thoughts on “Scaring Myself

  1. I once wrote a ghost story about a piano that various people told me was incredibly scary, but I didn’t think it was that bad.

    Post-children, I re-read it – and scared myself stupid…

Leave a Reply

