Which Jane Austen Heroine are You?

I am Elizabeth Bennet!My mother gave me her copy of Pride and Prejudice to read during the summer I was fourteen. It was bound in green leather with gold lettering and was a school prize. I sat under the shade of a large peppercorn tree and tried to read it.

‘It’s so slow,’ I complained at lunch.  Mum looked knowingly and said, ‘keep reading.’

The next day  over lunch I hotly exclaimed, ‘That Mr. Darcy, what a horrible man!’  Mum looked knowingly and said, ‘keep reading.’

A day after that Mum called me to lunch. I skipped it and kept reading.  To this day, Pride and Prejudice is my favourite book. I have read all the Austen’s and Emma is a close second but Elizabeth and Darcy have a special place in my heart. I have seen all versions of the film and my fave is the 1980’s Faye Weldon adaptation although I confess that Colin Firth is my fave Mr Darcy.

So which Austen Heroine are you? Take the Quiz here!

And then tell me!

Leave a Reply

