Working From Home

Both my jobs involve me working from my office at home and both my jobs mean I’m sitting at a screen. Between the hours of 9am-3pm unless the phone rings I only open my mouth if I want to sing or exclaim or hum. I go to the gym three times a week but although I say ‘hello’ and ‘goodbye’ I’m, pretty much just there to exercise so I break up my hermit week with tennis on a tuesday. 

I’m a fair tennis player, nothing startling and sometimes I’m not even sure I love the game that much but what I do love and treasure is the women I play tennis with.  For a few hours a week I get to be a grown up and talk to other women and it’s really important for me to feel part of that group because writing can be a lonely existence.

My tennis team always celebrates birthdays with a lunch. We have a February lunch, a June lunch, an August lunch and a Christmas lunch. Talk ranges from kids to books, to school, to  travel and some gossip thrown in and I just love being a part of it.  I’m just back from the August lunch…shame no one has a birthday in September or October! 

Leave a Reply

