Golden Orbs of Winter

Winter officially starts next Tuesday, but in the late autumn sunshine that is streaming through my grapefruit tree, I was struck by the brilliant colour of these soon-to-be ripe grapefruit.

So often I think my winter garden is devoid of colour but how wrong am I?  This crop reminds me of the glorious setting for Her Brooding Italian Surgeon. Mildura is famous for its citrus groves so considering how much further south Iam, and how much colder it gets down here, I reckon my crop is a pretty good effort.

Grapefruit for breakfast anyone?

One thought on “Golden Orbs of Winter

Leave a Reply

