Contest!! Schedule ‘Flirting with Forty’ on Dec 25th

I don’t know what you do on Christmas night but my family normally fall into a heap holding groaning stomachs filled with food and we watch TV.  Robbie the Reindeer is a Christmas tradition but this year, I’ll be watching Flirting with Forty! Why? Fellow writing mate, Jane Porter’s fantastic novel has been made into a TV movie and it’s being shown on Christmas Night downunder.

Starring Heather Locklear and Robert Buckley, it’s going to be on the Universal Channel Cable TV (available through Optus, Foxtel, Austar)  on Christmas Day at 8:30 pm. 

To celebrate, Jane is giving away some books of Flirting With Forty and some other goodies to her Aussie readers/viewers. To enter, leave a comment on my blog, telling me what movie you like to watch on Christmas night and you’ll be in the draw! How simple is that?

Meanwhile, schedule your Foxtel IQ  or your TIVO or your VCR or PVR for Flirting With Forty so you don’t miss it!

19 thoughts on “Contest!! Schedule ‘Flirting with Forty’ on Dec 25th

  1. Damn! I have to pick one movie? I’m not sure I can. I love all the old favorites from when I was a kid, Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph etc, and then there’s all the “newer” hollywood movies like The Santa Clause, Elf, The Grinch…. Are there enough hours in Christmas night for all that?

    Huge congrats to Jane! I think I wanna be her when I grow up.

  2. One of my favourite Christmas movies is Elf. I’ve already recorded it ready for Christmas Day! (The kids have watched it dozens of times, but never tire of it.)

    We do tend to ‘over indulge’ in Christmas movies, whether they’re classics or newer movies.

    There’s movie I used to watch every year, but it hasn’t been around for a while. I can’t remember the name of it, but it was about a child who didn’t believe in Christmas.

    Can anyone tell me what it is?

    Congratulations Jane on your movie deal. It’s fabulous news, and well deserved.

  3. Congratulations to Jane for getting a movie made out of her FLIRTING WITH FORTY! wow! And Heather Locklear acting in it? Double wow!

    Well we usually have the Home Alone 1,2,3 on TV around Christmas, so we watch that, but I also have a heap of Christmas DVD’s we watch.
    All the best.

  4. Congrats to Jane on her movie deal.

    There are so many good Christmas movies but my favorites from childhood are definately Home Alone and The Santa Clause. I think these are both situations we would always dream about when we were kids.
    To have your entire family leave you to run a muck in the house and eat what you want (maybe not have creepy looking burglers come though). And now to have your Dad as Santa think of the endless possibilities that would bring plus meeting those famous reindeer and elves.

    Both great family movies that I think everyone enjoys.

  5. Hi Fiona,

    The contest open for Aussie readers only?! Ok, never mind, you called out via the FB and I showed up!

    I want to watch Valentines Day, starring Taylor Lautner and Taylor Swift. But daughter wants to watch Gossip Girl after Shortland Street( which is on now 8.40 p.m Thursday). One of us has to compromise and go to the lounge to watch!

  6. Hi Fiona and Jane
    I have a few Christmas faves but my very bestest favourite is Love, Actually. I know some of the stories don’t end with happy ever after, but many of them do and some of them don’t end the way we expect them to (like the guy who goes to the USA and hooks up with the gorgeous gals) I LOVE Colin Firth in this and also Hugh Grant but ADORE the most gorgeous hunk of all – Rodrigo Santoro!!
    Can’t wait to see Flirting With Forty, Jane! Mega congrats on getting words on the page to the screen!!

    Hugs
    Serena

  7. I LOVE Christmas movies. Feels indulgent to watch movies at the moment at other times but around Christmas it seems wrong not too. My favourite is probably Love Actually!! Such a GORGEOUS real life kinda movies!! Seems to be a popular one 🙂
    Can’t wait to watching Flirting With Forty!
    x
    Rach!

  8. I’ve seen the Flirting with Forty movie, it’s a great story! Congrats to Jane, I think every author dreams of having a novel made into a movie (me included) 🙂
    I absolutely LOVE christmas movies, especially the ones that bring back that magical feeling from childhood. One of my favourites I’d like to watch again is ‘Santa Claus’, the old one with Dudley Moore and John Lithgow (that’s not the one you mean is it Cheryl?), it brings sback memories from my childhood.
    I also love The Polar Express, and Tim Allen’s The Santa Clause.
    Looking forward to Christmas!

  9. This is a strange one, but my family has a tradition of watching “Xanadu” (yes the ONJ musical spectacular!). I think one random Christmas it happened to be on late at night and we were up, and having not seen it for years (since my brother and sister and I were kids) we ramped up the volume and danced around like idiots, singing loudly. (I think there may have been some Christmas cocktails involved…)

    Ever since, we bought it on DVD and now watch Xanadu.

    Go on, you know you want to go rollerskating now… 😉

  10. For us it is The Polar Express. Fantastic animated movie, great music and story. My 6 year old knows all the words to the songs and we always sigh at the end in happy Christmassy contentment.

    Can’t wait to see Flirting with Forty. The Polar Express will have to go on early this year. Plus my little man will hopefully be fast asleep by 8.30pm. Fingers crossed.

  11. Huge congratulations to Jane on Flirting with Forty being snapped up to be made into a movie! That is so cool! We don’t have Cable so I’ll have to wait for it to come out on DVD.

    Fiona, we usually lounge about with those groaningly full tummies too! And, I have to confess that we often go for some gratuitous violence for a Christmas night viewing… Maybe a Die Hard movie… and you know, come to think of it, those first two ARE Xmas movies! Mmm, don’t think I should examine that too closely! 😉

  12. Thanks everyone so much for entering and for the great comments. I asked Boy Wonder (12) to help choose the winners so he put on his Santa hat and pulled out the following names!
    Cassie, Cheryl Wright, Emmie Dark, Rachael Johns and Kylie Plester!
    Please email Lee at lee@authorsoundrelations.com with your postal address so she can mail out your prizes!
    Remember to tell your friends to watch Flirting With Forty on Dec 25th and ENJOY!

  13. I watched Flirting with Forty on Christmas night. It was fabulous – I absolutely adored it!

    My book prize arrived days ago, and I’m almost at the end of my current read, and will get into it. I can’t wait!

    Happy Christmas everyone.

    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

