Summer and the beach

I’m surrounded by food boxes and lists while the men in the family are loading the trailer. Yes, it’s that time of year; the annual beach holiday. The paper’s been cancelled, the house sitter will arrive very soon and I’ll be spending quite a few nights under canvas. Some of my friends roll their eyes, unable to understand how I can live without power and without my hairdryer. Given my hair is a tad longer at the moment I might end up agreeing with them! Or have my hat jammed on my head at all times… But what I love most about this holiday once the tent is pitched is that life slows down to ‘what will I read today?’ ‘Will I surf or will I paddle on the river?’

I’m hoping I can stop and let my imagination come back and meanwhile I have a lovely pile of books to read. Back soon!

2 thoughts on “Summer and the beach

Leave a Reply

