Revolting Rhymes

Boy Wonder is getting an award today at Speech Day…he won the Reading prize for his year level 🙂 Each year all students read a passage from the book of their choice. I’ve always quoted ‘Singing In The Rain’ with ‘Make ’em laugh’ or cry, but in two minutes its easier to make them laugh.  

This year he chose from Roald Dahl’s ‘Revolting Rhymes’ and read ‘Goldilocks and the Three Bears.’ If you’re not familiar with ‘Revolting Rhymes’, check them out because they will definitely make you smile.

As a child, my school librarian introduced me to Dahl by reading us ‘James and the Giant Peach’ and then the much anticipated ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’.  I used to count the days between library classes so I could get my next ‘fix’ of the stories.

I’ve passed my love of Roald Dahl to my boys and we and have the complete collection of his stories. I remember a long car trip whizzing past as we listened to ‘The Fantastic Mr Fox.’ We’ve seen the films, we’ve seen stage productions

Sometimes, what we loved as a kid does not translate well to our own children but Dahl did for us. Do you have an author that you passed onto your kids successfully?

2 thoughts on “Revolting Rhymes

  1. It’s too early to be sure with my own kid (he’s 2 and a half), but my grandfather read the Wizard of Oz books and the Alice in Wonderland books to my father when he was a child. Then my father read them to me. Lots of fond memories of those books.

  2. That’s lovely, Jill. My dad read AA Milne to us and I’ve always enjoyed the Pooh-Bear stories. My dad was reciting AA Milne just the other day when our new kitten was sitting halfway up the stairs 🙂

Leave a Reply

