A Weekend Spent Talking Writing is Bliss

It’s Monday and I’m just finding my feet after spending the weekend in lovely, Launceston. I was invited to speak at the inaugural RWA Tasmanina Roadshow. It started off with a bit of fun…my plane was filled with blokes heading over for the AFL football match on the Saturday. I have to say, it’s the first time I have ever been on a plane where the passengers cheered when it took off. Then again, I think it’s the first time I’ve been on a plane where the bulk of the passengers had been drinking beer from about 11am 😉

Melanie Milburne and Ebony McKenna were fellow speakers and I enjoyed being able to hear both of them speak and I took away something from their talks. It was fun to catch up with writers I had met before and to meet new ones as well.

The Tasmanian paper, The Examiner, interviewed us and I think the journalist wished we wrote Aussie rural romance as she’d read about it and she certainly made it sound like we did! But it’s a great article none the less and I guess as my medical romances are usually set in the Outback, then I fit the criteria to a certain extent.  The link is http://www.examiner.com.au/news/local/news/entertainment/tasmania-the-ideal-setting-for-romance/2562223.aspx

It was a terrific weekend and I send a special thanks to the committee who organised it. The only thing that would have made it better was if I had remembered to bring home all my business pants which I left hanging in the motel wardrobe. Fortunately, they are being sent home COD by the lovely people at the Sandors On The Park.

So now to find my brain and start work…. oh Boy Wonder has just appeared needing help with his geography homework…..

2 thoughts on “A Weekend Spent Talking Writing is Bliss

  1. I have enjoyed your site so I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for illuminating, informative blog content. You can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great day!!!

Leave a Reply

