Food In France.

For those of you who aren’t on Facebook or Twitter, you may not know, but I’ve just spent 3 weeks in France, hence the blog silence!  The weather was lousy but we accepted that because the country is amazing and we had THE BEST time including a week in Paris and cycling 300 km from Toulouse to the Mediterranean.

I could show you photos of splendid buildings and beautiful scenery but head to Facebook for that. Here I’m hitting you with with food! The French do food so well and we ate ourselves silly and loved every minute of it. We stumbled on some amazing restaurants with sensational food and lovely wines, but even at an average restaurant, the food was good and the presentation perfect.

So here’s Fiona’s pictorial guide to what she ate in France…..

The real deal!
French Onion Soup; the real deal!
DSCF1514
Gateaux!
DSCF1684
The French LOVE Nutella crepes and I confess to eating one or two wrapped in white paper from a street stall…
DSCF1578
Fromage! France produces more types of cheese than days of the year!
DSCF1577
Sausage!
Cassoulet..the famous dish of beans, sausage and duck from Castlenaudary
Cassoulet..the famous dish of beans, sausage and duck from Castlenaudary
DSCF1812
Lunch on the bike path.
DSCF1534
Chaud Chocolat with style!
DSCF2121
Hearty Alsace Food with BIG German influence
Wine from one of our favourite restaurants on the whole trip in Narbonne. Here I had mussels with aioli cooked on a wood fire. Divine!
Wine from one of our favourite restaurants on the whole trip in Narbonne. Here I had mussels with aioli cooked on a wood fire. Divine!
DSCF2122
Entrecote! My husband ate this wherever he could with or without sauce

DSCF2472DSCF2414DSCF2469

Moet & Chandon. Need I say more!
Need I say more!

So there you have it. Oh, and I will throw in one scenery shot…one of my faves!

The Canal du Midi in autumn and me & my bike.
The Canal du Midi in autumn and me & my bike.

Do you have food memories of a vacation/holiday you’d like to share?

2 thoughts on “Food In France.

  1. Fiona, you have taken me there! Fond, fond memories. And so easy in France to cobble together a sensational meal by diving into a traiteur for lovely sausage, cheese, wine, etc. Then next door to the baker. Hugh sigh. I must show that last photo to my DH. We were considering that canal trip next year. This just might clinch it!

Leave a Reply

