I’m Twenty-five!

yippeeI’m Twenty-Five!

I wish! However, I have just turned in my 25th novel to Harlequin Mills and Boon. Cue sparklers, pop Champagne, blow bubbles!!  It’s not going to hit the shelf until mid 2015 but I have to say, I am a little excited.

PregnantOnArrival2

My very first novel 2006

Back in 2005, when I sold my first novel, Pregnant On Arrival, I couldn’t see beyond the next book. I recall my first Harlequin Authors’ Dinner where authors were getting pins for milestones such as 25, 50, 100 books…GULP. I could never envisage getting anywhere close to those numbers. You see, my brain does not POP with ideas and I can’t juggle more than one book idea at a time so I guess I am a slogger.

The thing is though, as much as I find it hard to start a book, I ADORE finishing them. Love the BUZZ that comes when I hit Send on a manuscript, even if it does bounce back with revisions. The sheer JOY of knowing I have completed another book, that I got through the dark times in the middle when I had no clue where I was going or what I was doing, buoy me up for the next time….although there is always a point in every book where I say, never again!

Faned coversSo, here we are! Since 2005 I’ve written twenty-one category romances for Harlequin and four single title novels for Carina Press which is the digital-first arm of Harlequin. Twenty five books!

I’ve also written two short stories and a single-title novel for Berkley/Penguin which is out next year.

What’s next? Book two in my Montana series! I just have to go find an idea…..

5 thoughts on “I’m Twenty-five!

  1. Massive congratulations, Fi! What an achievement. You rock, my girl! And you’ve made me feel so much better about my own process- which sounds very similar to yours. I’m not one of those people with a zillion story ideas in their heads- I have to work hard at getting one! So getting to 25 (plus the other brilliant STs along the way)- is fabulous!
    Well done you!!

    • Thanks so much, Louisa! I envy people their ideas although some say their head is so loud with them that they can’t write the book so perhaps we are slightly better off at concentrating. But right now my brain looks a lot like the hero’s in The Lego Movie…a lot of blank, white space!

      • Trust the process (my mantra!) You’ll get there and it will, as always, be brilliant!

        Thanks. I need to chant your mantra…it is mine too but I often argue with it:-)

Leave a Reply

